This was an inpromptu addition to the CJT project. I was having trouble finding the time/energy to do my part of CJT2 and didn’t want to change to something easier than what I had in my head, so to keep a sense of momentum with the project, I sent my friend No.3 to do in the meantime. It was nice and quick and we both enjoyed it!

~~~

Creative Joyful Thing No.3

*Write a Haiku*

This is my favourite Haiku at the moment:

O snail

Climb Mount Fuji,

But slowly, slowly!

~ Kobayashi Issa

A definition:

Haiku is an unrhymed, syllabic form adapted from the Japanese: three lines of 5, 7 and 5 syllables. Because it is so brief, a haiku is necessarily imagistic, concrete and pithy, capturing a single moment in a very few words.

Because the form has been brought into English from a language written in characters, in which a haiku appears on a single line, many poets writing haiku in English are flexible about the syllable and line counts, focusing more on the brevity, condensed form and “Zen” attitude of haiku. The traditional Japanese haiku requires some reference to nature or the season.

Enjoy!

Here is my Haiku:

Raggle-taggle bunch

Picked on December 15th

You are beautiful

It was about a bunch of misshapen and partially formed flowers that I had found still struggling to bloom, despite the fact that they should be dead at this time of year. It was a pink rose and some blue anemones. In actual fact I could have picked them a few days ago, almost the same, a month later! We have had a mild winter so far, though it is very frosty today.

And here are the TWO Haiku Rachael sent to me (I am spoilt!)

The cover of the first (they were sent inside little cards)

And the Haiku:

Apricot, turquoise,

Charcoal and dark amethyst

Sky promises storm

And here is the second one:

She particularly liked the structure of the words in this one, being 3, 5, 3:

O wing-ed brethren

Help me! With unfeathered wings

Earthbound I remain

