lesbury picture

A local friend told me about a small exhibition that was planned in our village,  around the theme of what the village means to us. I found a photograph that I had taken recently on a walk to the river, and it was such a beautiful day and a peaceful time watching and listening to the water.  I realised that to me living here means being able to be immersed in nature and the peace and calm that it can provide. The other important aspect for me is feeling part of the community and  meeting such friendly people when I go out. It is the kind of place where everybody says hello, smiles and comments on the weather or something else. I have lived here for three years and it is such a different feeling to where I lived before, when people would rarely say hello and it was a more urban situation.  As my arms are very weak at the moment and I am doing a lot of other things, I kept my submission as simple as possible and was proud of myself that I managed to complete it in two short work sessions.

